Former MPs receive $102,500

TWO of the region's former MPs stand to receive more than $100,000 in settlements from the government following the State Election losses earlier this year.

Ex-Ipswich West MP Wayne Wendt and Beaudesert MP Aidan McLindon will receive five-figure redundancy packages while former Ipswich MP Rachel Nolan receives a pension.

Parliamentary clerk Neil Laurie said Mr Wendt would receive a payment equal to six months of an MP's annual salary, expected to be $68,500, after having served two terms in the Bligh government.

Mr McLindon, who won Beaudesert for the LNP before becoming an indepenent and founder member of Katter's Australia Party, would get three months annual salary - $34,000 - after serving one term.

The payments were detailed in the recent State Budget.

The details of Ms Nolan's pension remains undisclosed.

When contacted by the QT, Mr Wendt offered no comment on his post-political life. Ms Nolan could not be contacted.

Mr Laurie said MPs elected to Parliament before 2006, as was Ms Nolan, were included in a paid benefit scheme.

MPs contributed 11.5% of their salary and if they served eight years and were defeated in an election, or resigned after 11 years, they received a pension from the scheme.

Members of parliament elected after 2006 became members of Qsuper, joining the same scheme as public servants.

Ms Nolan lost the seat to LNP candidate Ian Berry, losing a 16.7% margin held from the previous election.

The defeat brought to an end her 11-year career, in which she served as the minister for transport, natural resources, finance and the arts.

Mr Wendt lost Ipswich West seat held by the Labor party for 35 years, to LNP candidate Sean Choat.

He commanded a 9.7% margin before the election.

Topics:  aidan mclindon mp state election wayne wendt

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.

Bowen athlete snatches parkrun victory in PB

Airlie Beach parkrunners stoked at another great start to the weekend.

Visiting athlete snatches victory in PB at parkrun.

Continuing the family Legacy

Legacy the bull with Junior Brahmans players and supporters at Les Stagg Oval on Saturday Morning.

Justice the bull's son Legacy, makes a debut for the Brahmans.

Cannons fire at NQ champs

WINNERS ARE GRINNERS: Cannonvale Cannons at the NQ meet. Back row: Chloe Robertson, Eden Hedges, Tegan Hanks, Mikhaila Flint, Jacob Bell, Jy Parkinson, Gus Hedges.
Middle: Samantha O'Hanlon, Jakarra Heffernan, Mitchell Milostic, Mae Carter-Attwood, Kaia Heffernan and Hayden O'Hanlon.
Front: Taylah O'Hanlon, Jack O'Hanlon, Remy Hedges and Tiana Bell.Absent: Evie and Zoe Herlihy.

Ready, set, win; for the Cannons.

Local Partners