Presentation night a splash for swimmers

AWARDS NIGHT: Jett Pannan and Acadia Simmonds of the Whitsunday Swimming Club were the winners of the 25m Hinschen Handicap trophies.
AWARDS NIGHT: Jett Pannan and Acadia Simmonds of the Whitsunday Swimming Club were the winners of the 25m Hinschen Handicap trophies.


MEMBERS and supporters of the Whitsunday Swimming Club have officially finished their season with presentations earlier this month.

The annual event took place at the Proserpine Swimming Pool on May 1, with many swimmers eager to get back into the water after another busy swimming season to test their skills on the giant inflatable obstacle course.

The management committee thanked coaches Andrea Mitchell, Raylene Rasmussen and Mark Erickson for their time, effort and commitment put into coaching and mentoring the children over the past season.

Mrs Mitchell and Mr Erickson spoke on behalf of the coaches, congratulating all the swimmers on their efforts and achievements over the past seven months and recognised those who had put in a consistent training effort all season.

Mrs Mitchell then presented the coach's award to Bridgett Smith for her commitment, effort and positive attitude to training and racing.

Other awards presented included best club beginner awarded to Piper Hiscox, most improved to Nicholas Becker, Alex Lamberton Memorial Trophy for consistent effort awarded to Seamus Telford and Nicholas Becker and the Pat Patullo Trophy for consistent endeavour awarded to Celeste Hardy-Young.

The Mudie Encouragement Awards went to Liam Becker, Acadia Simmonds, Piper Hiscox and Bridgett Smith for showing determination and effort throughout the season.

The Hinschen Handicap winners were Jett Pannan and Acadia Simmonds for the 25m race and Olivia Adam and Jay O'Loughlin for the 50m event.

Higher achievers received recognition for their efforts also, with Olivia Adam being presented with a Level 1 trophy for achieving four A-grade times throughout the season while Kate McDonald was presented with a Level 2 Higher Achiever trophy for her A-grade times and four state times.

Congratulations again went to Olivia Adam and Kate McDonald as they were announced senior and junior swimmer of the year for 2014.


Winners - Bridgett Smith (eight-years), Kimba-Lee Simmonds, Jay O'Loughlin (nine-years), Kate McDonald (10-years), Olivia Adam, Nicholas Becker (11-years), Alicia Adam, Bill O'Loughlin (13-years) and Blake Hardy-Young (14 years).

Runners-up - Grace Rule, Kyle Corskie (nine-years), Celeste Hardy-Young (10-years) and Seamus Telford (11-years).


Georgia Reid, Acadia Simmonds, Lachlan Edmonson, Liam Becker, Ashlyn Becker, Jaden Corskie, Jett Pannan, Amelia Emmerson, Piper Hiscox, Harrison McDermid, Alice Telford, Harry Turner, Cayden Yuskan, Rylee Hiscox, Joel Lekic, Rylee Yuskan, Natalie Lekic, Riley Borrellini, Chris Raiteri, Jack Raiteri, Campbell Wilson, Coen Wilson, Lauren Wilson and Brandon Wilson.

Topics:  swimming

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.

Athletes set to hit the ground running this year

FUN FOR ALL: Children and families were a big part of the 2017 Airlie Beach Running Festival last year.

Athletes set to hit the ground running this year.

Whitsundays wins at Australian Tourism Awards

Ocean Rafting takes the gold in the Major Tour and Transport Operator category at the 2018 Australian Tourism Awards.

Best in the tourism business, Whitsundays wins gold .

Airlie Beach PO boxes on the move to Jubilee Pocket

Airlie Beach post office boxes situated at the Whitsunday Shopping Centre will move to Jubilee Pocket.

Cannonvale PO boxes on the move to Jubilee Pocket.

Local Partners