Raiders celebrate 2012 season

A RESURGENT 2012 season was celebrated by the Whitsunday Raiders at the PCYC on Saturday night at the end of season presentation.
A RESURGENT 2012 season was celebrated by the Whitsunday Raiders at the PCYC on Saturday night at the end of season presentation.


A RESURGENT 2012 season was celebrated by the Whitsunday Raiders at the PCYC on Saturday night with both the seniors and juniors honoured at the end of season presentation.

It was a fitting end to one of the strongest club seasons on record, led by hard-working and committed club presidents Bruce Spannagle (seniors) and Sharron Pratt (juniors).The junior Raiders club was stronger than ever this year and the Raiders' seniors were one of the great success stories of the senior competition following a year of mostly forfeits in 2011.The Raiders have helped re-build rugby union in the region with a strong showing on the field with both seniors and juniors registering their highest numbers in years.

In the juniors Trish and Bruce Hoerlein won the volunteer's award after devoting countless hours to helping the juniors throughout their season. Coach of the year in the juniors went to Dave Cornish and Graham Wyatt received a special contribution award honouring his lifetime of involvement in rugby administration with the Raiders. Club veteran Bill Pratt took out the Raider of the year in the seniors after leading the club with fierce determination and energy right throughout the season. Hard-working second rower Sean Condon was named the club's best forward for 2012 and Argentinean fullback Martin Roveda took out back of the year and the award for scoring the most points.

Most improved went to Matt Sammutt after his strong campaign this season and Cal Richardson took out the nutter of the year award.

A special award was also presented to Darryn 'Kiwi' Gempton for his decades of contribution to the club, receiving a passionate standing ovation as he accepted his life membership. Special guests for the evening were Queensland Reds player Jono Lance and Reds Coaching director Tyrell Barker and strength and conditioning assistant Henry Gilbert. One of the loudest applauds of the evening came from president Spannagle when he announced the coach for 2012 would remain the popular Hemi Taukiri, who has worked wonders for the club on the field.There is still rugby to be played this year with the Whitsunday Whales Golden Oldies touring Japan for the World Golden Oldies festival in a few weeks time and the annual Whitsunday Sevens tournament on October 27 at the Whitsunday Sports Park.



Volunteers Award - Trish and Bruce Hoerlein

Coach of the Year - Dave Cornish

Special Contribution - Graham Wyatt


Best Forward - Sean Condon

Best Back - Martin Roveda

Most Points - Martin Roveda

Most Improved - Matt Sammutt

Nutter of the Year - Cal Richardson

Raider of the Year - Bill Pratt

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.

Bowen athlete snatches parkrun victory in PB

Airlie Beach parkrunners stoked at another great start to the weekend.

Visiting athlete snatches victory in PB at parkrun.

Continuing the family Legacy

Legacy the bull with Junior Brahmans players and supporters at Les Stagg Oval on Saturday Morning.

Justice the bull's son Legacy, makes a debut for the Brahmans.

Cannons fire at NQ champs

WINNERS ARE GRINNERS: Cannonvale Cannons at the NQ meet. Back row: Chloe Robertson, Eden Hedges, Tegan Hanks, Mikhaila Flint, Jacob Bell, Jy Parkinson, Gus Hedges.
Middle: Samantha O'Hanlon, Jakarra Heffernan, Mitchell Milostic, Mae Carter-Attwood, Kaia Heffernan and Hayden O'Hanlon.
Front: Taylah O'Hanlon, Jack O'Hanlon, Remy Hedges and Tiana Bell.Absent: Evie and Zoe Herlihy.

Ready, set, win; for the Cannons.

Local Partners