Your dedicated news teams covering the Daily Mercury in Mackay, the Whitsunday times and The Guardian in the Whitsundays, and the Bowen Independent.
Your dedicated news teams covering the Daily Mercury in Mackay, the Whitsunday times and The Guardian in the Whitsundays, and the Bowen Independent.

We’re still here: How to contact your journalists

YOUR dedicated team of journalists is here to tell your stories and bring you the news that matters.

Have you got a story that needs to be told?

Here’s how to contact your local news team.

Rae Wilson, editor

Daily Mercury Editor Rae Wilson. Picture: Tony Martin
Daily Mercury Editor Rae Wilson. Picture: Tony Martin

Contact

Email: rae.wilson@news.com.au

Phone: 4957 0323

Tara Miko, deputy editor

Daily Mercury deputy editor Tara Miko
Daily Mercury deputy editor Tara Miko

Contact

Email: tara.miko@news.com.au

Phone: 0408 432 204 or 4957 0310

Callum Dick, sports editor

Daily Mercury sports editor Callum Dick.
Daily Mercury sports editor Callum Dick.

Contact

Email: callum.dick@news.com.au

Phone: 0437 217 429 or 4957 0413

Elyse Wurm, Whitsunday editor

Whitsunday editor Elyse Wurm.
Whitsunday editor Elyse Wurm.

Contact

Email: elyse.wurm@news.com.au

Phone: 0429 139 304 or 4940 2125

Ashley Pillhofer, digital producer

Daily Mercury’s Ashley Pillhofer.
Daily Mercury’s Ashley Pillhofer.

Contact

Email: ashley.pillhofer@dailymercury.com.au

Phone: 4957 0348 or 0450 619 603

Janessa Ekert, Mackay

Journalist Janessa Ekert. Picture: Anna Rogers
Journalist Janessa Ekert. Picture: Anna Rogers

Contact

Email: janessa.ekert@dailymercury.com.au

Phone: 0400 739 322 or 4957 0326

Melanie Whiting, Mackay

Daily Mercury journalist Melanie Whiting. Picture: Tony Martin
Daily Mercury journalist Melanie Whiting. Picture: Tony Martin

Contact

Email: melanie.whiting@news.com.au

Phone: 4957 0303 or 0436 921 693

Zizi Averill, Mackay

Daily Mercury journalist Zizi Averill. Photo: Rainee Shepperson
Daily Mercury journalist Zizi Averill. Photo: Rainee Shepperson

Contact

Email: zizi.averill@news.com.au

Phone: 4957 0418 or 0447 384 105

Heidi Petith, Mackay

Daily Mercury journalist Heidi Petith. Picture: Tony Martin
Daily Mercury journalist Heidi Petith. Picture: Tony Martin

Contact

Email: heidi.petith@news.com.au

Phone: 4957 0316 or 0427 029 361

Laura Thomas, Whitsunday

Laura Thomas covers the Whitsunday region.
Laura Thomas covers the Whitsunday region.

Contact

Email: laura.thomas@news.com.au

Phone: 0436 921 481 or 4940 2110


On this day: What was making news on August 15, 1980

Premium Content On this day: What was making news on August 15, 1980

Check out stories from the Whitsunday Coast Guardian 40 years ago.

Festival of Music founder pulls together Aussie-first event

Premium Content Festival of Music founder pulls together Aussie-first event

The #KIND20 festival will be streamed straight to your living room and features...

Read everything for just $1 a week for first 12 weeks

Premium Content Read everything for just $1 a week for first 12 weeks

Deal gives you access to local, regional and metro News sites